DD
MM
YYYY

spot_img

PAGES

Home Tekedia Forum

Tekedia Forum

Forum Navigation
Please or Register to create posts and topics.

Access Bank Takes GTBank, UBA, FirstBank, and Zenith for #1 Position

Access Bank has unveiled a bold strategy that will make it the "number one Nigerian bank by 2022 and create a universal payments gateway to dominate international trade and inter-African payments". I know that I am very biased as I worked in the Nigerian banking sector, but I can tell you that the most efficient sector in the Nigerian economy is banking. They are the hardest working people in our nation, at least at the organized (corporate) private sector.

I like what Access Bank wants to do: they essentially want to become an elephant with wings, taking over the payment sector in Nigeria and indeed Africa.  They see retail, SME banking and corporates as anchors to the vision.

The new strategy has six strategic levers, which are “digitally led; retail banking growth and consolidation in wholesale markets; customer-focused; analytics-driven, with robust risk management; strong global collaboration in key gateway markets; and the creation of a universal payments gateway.”

“We are setting out a new and ambitious five-year strategy which will put Access Bank at the forefront of Africa’s changing financial landscape by creating a universal payments gateway to dominate international trade and inter-African payments.”

The new five-year strategy, according to the bank, will accelerate the growth story to position Access Bank as the number one Nigerian bank by 2022 and create a universal payments gateway to dominate international trade and inter-African payments.

“We are setting out a new and ambitious five-year strategy which will put Access Bank at the forefront of Africa’s changing financial landscape by creating a universal payments gateway to dominate international trade and inter-African payments.”